The Elephant in the room!! 

A little bit about me that not many people know.  When I was 19 I was told I would never be a mother, I would not get pregnant naturally and of I did there was a slim chance that my baby would survive and be healthy.  That is great, just what you want to hear… Especially when you are engaged and planning a life with someone, a life that will one day include children. 

Okay so if we go back, my PCOS first appeared at 15/16, irregular periods, hair growth, abnormal bleeding between cycles and the pain during my period was uncontrollable and relentless, worse than my labour pains. I didn’t take a lot of notice I was young. When I met my husband it was still occurring it took about another 18months and 3 doctors to finally find out that I had fluid filled cysts on my ovaries and that I also had the “syndrome” that went along with it.  I have struggled with PCOS ever since. 

Some of the fun 

  • Abnormal bleeding and cycles 
  • Abnormal hair growth
  • Hormone imbalance
  • Insulin resistance 
  • Weight gain
  • Acne 
  • Insulin resistance 

Just to list the most common. I had all of the above except acne. Everything else I got.  So being young I didn’t think too much and bang! I had gained 15 kgs in 2 years (from 19-21) Even though nothing changed since I was 16. I still ate the same and exercised the same (not a lot) I managed to lose some but after our baby boy, but it went back up. 

I have always been someone who has tried but I do tend to give up easy. Now that is something I will not do. 

Not only does pcos effect my life daily it also affects my future, one of the best treatments for pcos is weight loss, something that should be simple but is so incredibly hard! I can pretty easily lose about 5 kg the rest is terrible! 4 weeks no change! 

I now use the merina for birth control and find that it has helped me with 90% of the symptoms however the weight is still horrible.  I am about to start Metfomin which should help with my insulin resistance.  

PCOS can also trigger and cause thyroid issues obviously fertility and so many other issues for women. I have only met 2 other people who have it although it affects 1 in 10!! It can even mess with your anxiety and depression! 

For me, I have let it take hold of me, by not actively doing anything to stop or treat it! However that is ending because I want to change, I want to be better! 

I will not let it – I refuse to let it define me! 

xxx

p.s my son is almost 5 and a very happy and healthy and smart little boy! 

Thanks for reading 

2 thoughts on “The Elephant in the room!! 

  1. missionweddingfit says:

    I’ve got two friends who have PCOS. One of them has just fallen pregnant but one of them is having some real trouble. They’ve been “trying” for almost a year now and she’s only had one period in that time (due to the PCOS, not pregnancy unfortunately).

    Go you for fighting through it and addressing the elephant in the room and I’m so pleased to hear that you’ve got a little boy. When I first started reading this blog I thought it might end in you still trying.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theentireinfinatesolutionthatisamelody says:

      Hey! It is a really horrible problem and many women don’t realise what is happening until much later and it can be a lot harder then
      I hope your friend who is trying has some success, my only advice for her would be to stop trying, focus on herself for a bit and it will happen. It seems to be the way it works lol (although it’s not very medical) I wasn’t even trying when we got our little boy. I forgot to put that in and then thought I’d better. I will make another post later about that ! Thanks so much for reading – it means a lot

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

